Chandrakant Patil wins from Kothrud

Patil, who was dubbed as an 'outsider', polled1,05,246 votes, against Shinde's 79,751.

Maharashtra BJP President Chandrakant Patil is a member of the Legislative Council at present.

Thursday (October 24): Maharashtra BJP president Chandrakant Patil, who was tagged as an ‘outsider’ before elections took place, won from Kothrud Assembly constituency in Pune city by a margin of 25,495 votes.

Patil, hails from Kolhapur – defeated Maharashtra Navnirman Sena’s (MNS) Kishore Shinde.

Patil, who is a member of the Legislative Council at present, polled1,05,246 votes, against Shinde’s 79,751.

The Congress and NCP had supported the MNS candidate.

Of the total 1,95,157 votes cast, 4,028 went to NOTA.

After Patil’s candidature was announced, posters had come up in Kothrud calling him an “outsider” and expressing resentment.

Medha Kulkarni, the sitting Kothrud MLA of the BJP, was denied ticket to accommodate Patil, who was contesting his first assembly election, as the seat was considered to be safe for the party.

Kulkarni had won the 2014 election by a margin of 64,662 votes.

Maharashtra 2019 Polls: BJP chief faces the tag of being an “outsider” in Kothrud


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here