Maharashtra ZP Elections: Cong-NCP wins Kolhapur zilla parishad

Congress' Bajarang Patil was elected as the president, NCP's Satish Patil became the vice president.


Thursday (January 2): Against their common political opponent BJP, the Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena joined hands to get their candidates elected as the president and vice president of the Kolhapur Zilla Parishad today.

While Congress’ Bajarang Patil was elected as the president, NCP’s Satish Patil became the vice president, an official said.

With 41 votes, Bajrang Patil defeated BJP’s Arun Ingawale who could muster only 24 votes, he said, adding that Satish Patil defeated Rahul Awade, a BJP-backed candidate.

The term of BJP’s Shaoumika Mahadik had ended recently, necessitating the election for the post of president and vice president, the official said.

The total strength of Kolhapur zilla parishad is 67, of which one member was not authorised to vote, while another remained absent, he said.

All Independent members, half the members from Shiv Sena and those from Raju Shetti-led Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana, who had initially sided with the BJP, switched their allegiance this time around, district Congress president Satej Patil said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here